Health care

Minnesota State Soldiers Assistance Program: Subsistence

Short-term income replacement in 30-day periods, up to six, for a veteran or surviving spouse kept from their usual occupation by a medical condition, or for a surviving spouse within 12 months of the veteran’s death. The benefit tops income up to a limit the commissioner republishes every January.

Also called: 197.03, 197.05, SSAP, subsistence, Minnesota Rules 9055, 30-day benefit period, six periods, schedule of maximum monthly allowances, shelter, utilities.

For: Veteran or service member, survivor.

Where it applies

Written for the jurisdictions listed here.

The State Soldiers Assistance Fund dates from 1923 and is the oldest thing in this file. Section 197.05 puts it under the commissioner of veterans affairs and directs it at any Minnesota resident or resident alien residing in Minnesota who served in the military or naval forces of the United States and who is indigent or suffering from any disability, whether acquired in the service or not. The disability does not have to be service-connected, which is unusual and is the point of the programme. The statute limits financial assistance to veterans and dependents to six months, unless recipients have been certified as ineligible for other benefit programmes. "Resident" is defined in the statute itself: a person living in Minnesota for at least 30 days with the intention of residing in the state and not for any temporary purpose. Residence may be verified with a state driver's licence or identification card, a voter registration card, a rent receipt, a landlord's or homeowner's statement, or another form the commissioner approves. Thirty days and an intention is a low bar by the standards of this catalog. The operating detail is in Minnesota Rules chapter 9055, and reading the statute alone will mislead you about how the money works. Subsistence is available on two routes. The first is a medical condition that prevents a veteran, or a surviving spouse, from working at their current or most recent occupation for at least 30 days. The second is a surviving spouse applying within the 12-month period following a veteran's death; that route needs no medical condition at all, and the 12 months is a hard window. The commissioner administers subsistence in 30-day benefit periods, with an eligibility determination before each one. A maximum of six 30-day periods is authorised unless the commissioner approves more under the medical-condition or death rules. The amount is not a fixed grant. Under rule 9055.0380, the maximum benefit for a period equals the applicant's maximum monthly household income limit where household income at the start of the period is zero, and the commissioner reduces that maximum by the household income actually received. Subsistence therefore tops a household up to the programme's income limit rather than paying a set sum. A household already at the limit receives nothing. Where the benefit amount is greater than zero, the commissioner must also pay utility costs at the primary residence and health insurance premiums or COBRA payments, assigned to specific benefit periods. Arrears matter: assistance with past due amounts, late charges or fees incurred before the start of the first benefit period is prohibited. Coming to the programme after the shutoff notice is much worse than coming before it. The dollar figures are nowhere in the statute or the rule. Rule 9055.0315 incorporates by reference a "schedule of maximum monthly allowances" that the commissioner updates and publishes every January, carrying both the maximum monthly household income limits, the maximum household asset limits, and the benefit amounts for each programme activity. Any figure quoted for this programme is a figure from one January's schedule and can move in the next. Ask a county veterans service officer for the current schedule rather than relying on a published number. Two disqualifications. An applicant or recipient who is receiving or begins to receive cash benefits from general assistance, emergency general assistance, the diversionary work programme or the Minnesota family investment programme is not eligible for subsistence. And a surviving spouse of a veteran who remarries is not eligible to receive benefits from the State Soldiers Assistance Program at all, though the remarried spouse may still apply as the authorised representative of the deceased veteran's surviving dependents. That is the opposite of the rule in the education benefit in section 197.75, where remarriage is expressly irrelevant. Since Laws 2026, chapter 50, a veteran whom VA has determined forfeited entitlement to federal benefits under 38 U.S.C. chapter 61 does not qualify for this or any other state-funded veterans programme under chapters 196 to 198.

Thresholds

Thresholds for Minnesota State Soldiers Assistance Program: Subsistence
GateRule
A medical condition keeping the applicant from their usual occupation for 30 daysMinnesota Rules 9055.0350, subpart 1 and 9055.0435: the condition must prevent the veteran or surviving spouse from working at their current or most recent occupation for at least 30 days. The condition need not be service-connected.
Or a surviving spouse applying within 12 months of the veteran’s deathMinnesota Rules 9055.0440, subpart 1: this route needs no medical condition, and the 12-month window runs from the death.
A Minnesota resident for at least 30 days, with intent to staySection 197.05, paragraph (b), verifiable with a driver’s licence, state ID, voter registration card, rent receipt, landlord statement or another approved form.
Income and asset limits from a schedule republished every JanuaryMinnesota Rules 9055.0315 incorporates by reference a schedule of maximum monthly allowances that the commissioner updates and publishes each January, carrying the income limits, the asset limits and the benefit amounts. The figures are not in the statute or the rule.
The benefit tops income up to the limit rather than paying a fixed sumMinnesota Rules 9055.0380: the maximum for a period equals the applicant’s maximum monthly household income limit at zero income, reduced by income actually received. A household already at the limit receives nothing.
Six 30-day periods unless the commissioner approves moreMinnesota Rules 9055.0350, and section 197.05, paragraph (a) limits assistance to six months unless the recipient has been certified ineligible for other benefit programmes.
Not alongside GA, EGA, DWP or MFIP, and not after remarriageMinnesota Rules 9055.0350, subpart 2 bars concurrent cash benefits from those programmes, and 9055.0270, subpart 1, item F bars a remarried surviving spouse from receiving SSAP benefits in their own right.

Documents the source lists

What the official source lists for an application, and where to get each document. It is a reference read from the source, not a full list of what the office may ask for; check with the office or an accredited representative before you apply. Needed means the source asks for it; Helps means the source calls it optional or says it speeds things up.

  • Needed Proof of address: a driver’s license, state ID, voter registration card, rent receipt or landlord’s statement

    Where to get it A document showing where you live, such as a utility bill, lease, voter registration card or state ID. The agency says which ones it accepts.

    Listed by Minn. Stat. § 197.05, fund, how expended read

Sources

Legislation

Law the tracker is watching for this entry. See the legislation tracker for every jurisdiction.

Laws of Minnesota 2026, chapter 50 Closed chapters 196 to 198 to a veteran whose federal benefits VA has declared forfeited

Catalog reconciledEnactedScope changedProgram repealed

Signed

  1. Introduced Done, , step 1 of 6
  2. In committee Done, , step 2 of 6
  3. Passed one chamber Done, , step 3 of 6
  4. Passed both chambers Done, , step 4 of 6
  5. Signed by the governor Done, , step 5 of 6
  6. In effect Done, , step 6 of 6

Restricts benefits Bars state veterans benefits to anyone whose federal benefits VA has declared forfeited.

Enacted Minn. Stat. 197.792, providing that a veteran as defined in 197.447, or a former member of the armed forces, does not qualify for state-funded veterans benefits, services or programmes under chapters 196 to 198 where VA has determined the individual forfeited entitlement to federal benefits under 38 U.S.C. chapter 61. This is a new cross-cutting disqualification reaching the veterans homes, the State Soldiers Assistance Program, the Minnesota GI Bill, the survivor education benefit and the state cemeteries at once, and it appears in none of the individual programme statutes. The same act repealed sections 196.19, 196.21, 196.22 subds. 1, 2, 3 and 5, 196.23 to 196.26 and 197.225, ending the environmental hazards information and assistance programme and the list of deceased military personnel, and added a deputy commissioner for administration. Tracked because a gate written into one new section and nowhere else is the kind a county veterans service officer will not see when reading the programme statute.

Sponsors

  • RepinskiHouse
  • KupecSenate

Touches Minn. Stat. § 197.792 · Minn. Stat. § 196.021 · Minn. Stat. § 196.19 · Minn. Stat. § 197.225

Official record

Updated

Last updated .

Request an update

Out of date, a broken link, or something else wrong? Say what you found, and an editor checks it against the official source.

Disclaimer

VetTOC is not affiliated with the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or the Department of Defense. Information is for reference only and is not an eligibility determination. Verify with VA, the relevant state or territory, or an accredited VSO.